Saturday, May 18

Four-time champions Nepal Police Club faces third consecutive defeat

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Four-time Martyr’s Memorial ‘A’ Division League champions Nepal Police Club faced their third consecutive defeat. In a dominant performance, Sankata Club recorded a comfortable 3-0 victory over the departmental side.

Sankata started the game brightly, creating several chances in the opening minutes. It wasn’t long before they took the lead, with Ganesh Hamal scoring in the 15th minute.

Despite Police attempts to get back into the game, Sankata’s defense held firm, and they went into the interval with a one-goal advantage.

The second half saw Sankata continue to dominate, and they were rewarded with a second goal in the 80th minute from Roshan Pahari.

Sankata put the game beyond doubt with Suraj Jiu Thakuri slotting the ball into the net in the 86th minute.

The victory earned Sankata four points from three matches. They earlier drew Tribhuvan Army Club in the first match and lost to Manang Marshyangdi Club in the second.

Sankata will next face the high-flying Church Boys United Club while Nepal Police Club will play against Machhindra FC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *