Friday, May 24

Captain Bindu lands Sudurpaschim’s flight to final

By a Staff Reporter

Opener duo Skipper Bindu Rawal and Kabita Kunwar’s 128 runs partnership lead Sudurpaschim to the final of the National Women’s Cricket Tournament. Sudurpaschim Province outplayed Madhesh Province by 114 runs in the first semifinal at Janata Cricket Park in Ithari.

Electing to bat first, Sudurpaschim placed 180/2 in the allocated 20 overs. Kabita Kunwar smashed dozen of fours and a sixer off 54 deliveries to contribute the highest of 70 runs for her side. Skipper Bindu played a not-out inning scoring second highest. Bindu scored 60 off 52 deliveries with 9 fours. Hitting 4 fours and 2 sixers off 15 balls, Kabita Joshi departed for 32.

Bhumi Singh and Sana Praveen took a single wicket each for Madhesh.

Later, Sudurpaschim defended the winning target of 181 runs restricting Madhesh to 66/8 in the prescribed 20 overs. Alisha Yadav 14, Seema Kunwar 16, and Pratima Sah 19 were only the batters to contribute in double figures.

While Sana Praveen and Amiran Nisha left the crease following a duck out, Anuradha Chaudhary, Kabita Gautam*, and Shanti Chaudhary* collected 1 each. Saraswati Kumari and Roji Kadari scored a brace.

With Manisha Chaudhary and Ritu Kanoujiya picking 2 wickets, Kabita Kunwar and Sneha Mahara claimed 1 apiece.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *