Tuesday, July 16

CAN announces 18-member squad for U1-9 Women’s World Cup qualifiers

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Cricket Association of Nepal has announced an 18-member team for the upcoming U-19 Women’s World Cup Asia Region Qualifiers in the second phase. The 18-member team was announced on Monday after shortlisting players from the preliminary squad of 44 players.

The qualifiers for next year’s world cup will be held in Malaysia next month. CAN had initially called 44 players for training camp out of which 26 players did not make it to the next round. The players were called for the training on the basis of their performance during the U-19 National Championship held in Dhangadhi two months ago.

The Asia Regional Qualifiers will feature competition between Nepal, the UAE, Malaysia, Qatar, China, Bhutan, Myanmar and Thailand. The top team will get an opportunity to compete in the T20 U-19 Women’s World Cup to be held in South Africa in 2023.

A total of 16 teams will compete in the U-19 World Cup which will be held in the months of January and February and will feature 41 matches. Meanwhile, the Asia Regional Qualifiers will be held in the first week of June for which CAN will announced a 14-member final squad in a few days.

Nepal’s 18-member squad

Kiran Kumari Kunwar, Sonu Rajbanshi, Tika Sah, Shristi Dhami, Sabitir Dhami, Elisha Yadav, Anjali BK, Hiranmayi Roy, Elisha Khatiwada, Kritika Marasini, Manisha Upadhyay, Shena Mahara, Nisha Sah, Manisha Rana Magar, Pratima Sah, Jyotsna Marasini, Manisha Chaudhary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *