Tuesday, February 20

Bhuvan bags the title of Surya Nepal Kathmandu Open

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Former Nepal Number 1 pro-Bhuvan Nagarkoti bagged the title of Surya Nepal Kathmandu Open, the first event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2022-23, at the par-68 Royal Nepal Golf Club on Friday.

Bhuvan carded four-under 64 to post the 72-hole total of 14-under 258 and recorded a nine-stroke victory over Dinesh Prajapati. Bhuvan claimed his 10th career title along with a cash prize of Rs 116,000.

Dinesh produced the best card of the day scoring six-under 62 for the score of five-under 267 and moved up to second. He earned 78,000. Nepal No 1 Sukra Bahadur Rai slipped to third after he played even-par 68 and received Rs 63,000. Leader of the first two rounds. Rabi Khadka played a round of four-over 72 and finished fourth at three-over 275 and pursed Rs 50,000. Ramesh Adhikari came fifth at five-over 277 after he played one-over 69 and received Rs 43,000.

Krishna Man Rajbahak was sixth at 278, Surya Prasad Sharma came seventh at 279, while Pradip Kumar Lama and Jayram Shrestha shared the eighth place at 280. Dhana Bahadur Thapa finished 10th at 281.

Bhuvan, who went into the final round with a nine-shot lead, carded one-under 33 on the front nine and added three-under 31 on the back nine. He dropped a shot on the second hole and bounced back with birdies on the third and fifth holes. With no one pushing from behind, Bhuvan carded birdies on the 11th, 13th, and 14th holes to cap a bogey-free back nine.

Second-placed Dinesh carded seven birdies and faced a bogey in the final round as he overtook Nepal No 1 pro-Sukra in the final standing. He carded two-under 32 on the front nine and shot four-under 30 on the back nine. He made birdies on the second, third and sixth holes before dropping a shot on the ninth. After taking the turn, Dinesh carded four birdies on the 10th, 11th, 13th, and 14th holes.

Sukra, who was two strokes ahead of Dinesh going into the final round, carded one-under 33 on the front nine and played one-over 35 on the back nine. Sukra carded a birdie on the eighth hole and saved pars on eight other holes before taking the turn. He then faced a double bogey on the 18th and dropped shots on the 15th and 17th holes against birdies on the 11th, 13th, and 16th holes.

In the Amateur section, Ajit BK won the title with a score of 17 over 289. Ajit played six-over 74 in the final round, but that was enough for him to register a 22-stroke victory over Suresh Tamang. Suresh played four over 72 for a total score of 311.

A total of 36 golfers — 31 pros and five amateurs — took part in the season-opening event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2022-23. The event carries a cash purse of Rs 670,000. Marketing Manager of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd Keshav Pradhan and President of PGA Nepal Rabindra Man Shrestha handed over the prizes to the winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *