Monday, December 4

Australia ‘Head’ Their Way Into Sixth World Cup Title

Agency – Travis Head’s magnificent century in the final has guided Australia to their sixth ICC World Cup title. Playing in front of a roaring home support of more than one lakh people, Australia chased down a target of 241 runs in 43 overs at the loss of just four wickets.

Travis Head played a masterful innings of 137 runs of 120 deliveries with 15 boundaries and four sixes in his innings. He put together a 192-run stand with Marnus Labuschagne who made an unbeaten 58 of 110 deliveries and steered the Aussies home. Marnus had just four boundaries in his innings.

Australia were in a bit of trouble with three wickets gone for just 47 runs and Indian pace attack gunning at them in the powerplay. But the partnership between Labuschagne and Head was key in Australia’s triumph. Opener David Warner was dismissed on just seven runs and Mitchell Marsh could only score 15. Steve Smith went back to the pavilion on just four runs without reviewing his dismissal which would have turned the decision around.

Nonetheless, the record champions Australia had enough batting down the order to get them home. Glenn Maxwell remained unbeaten on two runs. Jasprit Bumrah took two wickets in India’s bid to win the World Cup after 12 years- a repeat of their triumph in Mumbai against Sri Lanka in 2011. Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj got one wicket apiece.

Earlier, India, who lost the loss and were invited to bat, crawled their way to 240 runs in 50 overs at the loss of all ten wickets. KL Rahul steadily got to 66 off 107 deliveries with just one boundary to his name and topped the run charts for India in the game. Virat Kohli also crossed the half-century mark, getting dismissed on 54 off 63 with four fours to his name. Opener and skipper Rohit Sharma gave India a quick start to get out before reaching his fifty on 47 off 31 with four fours and three sixes.

Surya Kumar Yadav got going for a while until he made 18 off 28 and got dismissed. Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer both contributed four runs each to the total. Ravindra Jadeja made nine, Mohammed Shami made six and Kuldeep Yadav got to ten runs. Jaspirt Bumrah made one run while Mohammed Siraj remained unbeaten on nine runs.

Mitchell Starc took three wickets for Australia followed by Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins taking two each and Glenn Maxwell and Adam Zampa taking one wicket each.

India were on a 10-match winning streak until the final at the home in Ahmedabad. Australia, on the other hands lost their first two matches in the tournament- interestingly against India and South Africa who they defeated in the final and in the semifinals before winning all their remaining games.

Australia repeat their heroics in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015 with yet another World Cup title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *