Sunday, April 21

Asian Premier League T20 Cricket set to kick off in Nepal

Kathmandu (Hamro khelkud) – The inaugural edition of franchise based cricket tournament, Asian Premier League is scheduled to kick off in Nepal, organizers informed amid launching ceremony held in Kathmandu.

APL T20 Launching

The six teams Afghanistan Bulls, Bangladesh Tigers, Dubai Warriors, Indian Stars, Nepal Strom, Sri Lankan lions will compete in round robin and knock out based tournament where the winners bags almost 40 thousand USD (25 lakhs Indian rupees).

The tournament will feature 19 matches and all the games will be shown live in Sony Six. Every team will have 15 players and three staffs, the players to be decided through Auction which will be live at Sony Six on Monday, 12th June.

The base price of the players will be based on grading where the A graded players are initially priced at 30 thousand, B graders at 20 thousand and C graders at 10 thousand INR. Meanwhile the iconic players, who represent the teams are contracted for the tournament. There are two iconic players in every team.

The tournament which was initially planned in Sharjah ground was later considered to be hosted in Nepal because of the crowd advantage Nepal has.

“We planned the tournament long time back and it was to be hosted in Sharjah Cricket ground.” , organizers told in the launching ceremony. “However the crowd could be beneficial for the players which made us consider to change the venue “, they added.

The organizers also revealed that Pakistan Panthers could have been in the tournament, however the broadcasting scenario made them replace Pakistan team with Afghanistan Bulls.

The tickets will be sold online through eSewa and each ticket is priced at Nrs. 200.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *