Sunday, September 24

Amateur Sadbhav takes sole lead after Day-III

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Amateur golfer Sadbhav Acharya took the sole lead after the third round of the Surya Nepal Premier Golf Championship, the eighth and final event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2022-23, at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Thursday.

Sadbhav carded his second straight seven-under 65 on the third day to post the 54-hole total of 16-under 200. He is two-stroke ahead of fellow national team member Subash Tamang, who carded five-under 67 for 14-under 202. Pro Neeraj Tamang carded two-under 70 to remain third at eight-under 208 while defending champion Sukra Bahadur Rai was further one stroke down at fourth after he carded one-under 71.

Dinesh Prajapati and Bhuvan Nagarkoti are tied for fifth at five under 211. Dinesh carded four-under 68, while money-leader Bhuvan played one-under 71. Jayram Shrestha (72) is seventh at 213, while Purna Prasad Sharma and Shivaram Poudel share the eighth position at four under 214. Purna carded six-under 66 and Shivaram played one-over 73. Toran Bikram Shahi played three over 75 and he is in the 10th position with a total score of one-under 215.

Leader Sadbhav took the turn at two-under 34 before carding five-under 31 on the back nine. He carded four birdies on the first, third, fifth, and ninth holes and faced bogeys on the second and sixth holes before taking the turn. Sadbhav then carded five birdies on the 11th, 12th, 14th, 15th, and 16th holes in a bogey-free back nine.

Subash, who shared the lead with Sadbhav after the second round, carded four under 32 on the front nine and added one under 35 on the back nine. In the front nine, he carded five birdies on the first, third, fourth, seventh, and ninth holes and dropped a shot on the sixth hole. After taking the turn, Subash faced bogeys on the 10th and 14th holes against birdies on the 12th, 16th, and 18th holes.

Neeraj faltered to three-over 39 on the back nine after making the turn at an impressive five-under 31. He made a flying start with four straight birdies and added another on the seventh hole in the bogey-free front nine. He lost momentum on the back nine and dropped five shots on three holes. After carding birdies on the 11th and 12th holes, Neeraj faced bogeys on the 14th and 16th holes and suffered a triple bogey on the par-5 15th hole.

Defending champion Sukra carded one-under 35 on the front nine before playing even-par 36 on the back nine. Sukra carded birdies on the first and fourth holes before dropping shots on the seventh and eighth holes. He took the turn with a birdie on the ninth hole. Sukra then faced bogeys on the 11th and 13th holes before carding birdies on the 15th and 17th holes.

In the amateur section, Wangchen Dhondup is a distant third three-over 219 and he is tied with pro-Tanka Bahadur Karki, who carded four-under 68 in the third round.

A total of 50 golfers – 41 pros and nine amateurs – are participating in the flagship event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2022-23. The biggest tournament of the season in terms of prize money and number of participants, the event carries a purse of Rs 1.52 million. The top three pros will receive Rs 270,000, Rs 170,000, and Rs 120,000 respectively. Other pros in the top 21 will earn their share of cash prizes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *