Saturday, April 20

Sudurpaschim registers fourth consecutive win

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – 5-wicket haul from Hemant Dhami and a half-century innings each from Anurag Singh and Milan Bohara guides Sudurpaschim Province to a fourth consecutive win in an ongoing Wai Wai U19 National Cricket Tournament.

Sudurpaschim’s Inning

Sudurpaschim, who won the toss and elected to bat first, scored 264/9 against Province 1 in the prescribed 50 overs. Opening with a bat, Deepak Bohara and Bishal Ayer flopped as they returned to the dugout for 1 and 13 runs respectively.

Captain Anurag Singh and Milan Bohara then stepped in to share a century partnership of 103 runs for the fall of the third wicket. Facing 112 balls, Anurag collected 83 runs including 8 fours and a sixer.

Before getting bowled by Dipesh Kandel in the 29.6 overs, Milan scored 64 runs off 76 deliveries including 8 fours and a sixer. Dipak Bohara (32), Gajendra Bohara (24), and Aakash Chand contributed 20 runs to the tally.

Other batsmen failed to score in double figures. While Naren Saud and Kailash Ayer remained not out of 3 and 2 runs, Province 1’s Abhinaya Rajbanshi caught Sunil Chand’s shot Ashish Magar’s delivery for 4 runs, and Hemant Dhami got run out by Dipesh Kandel for 2 runs.

With Abhinaya Rajbanshi of Province 1 claiming 4 wickets, Ashish Magar and Dipesh Kandel booked 2 wickets each.

Province 1’s Inning

A heroic 5-wicket haul from Sudurpaschim’s pacer Hemant Dhami forced Province 1 to pack up for 51 runs in 16.3 overs. Hemant bowled Sonu Ansari, Estain Rijan, and Faijal Rahaman and claimed wickets of Suvan Gahataraj and Dipesh Kandel to get his five-wicket haul.

Opening with the bat, Sonu Ansari earned 3 runs. Estain returned to the pavilion with a duck out whereas Faijal got a golden duck out. Suvan added 9 runs to the total.

Bowling from Chovar end Sudurspachim’s Right-arm medium pacer, Aakash Chand bowled Bhupal Dangal for 10 runs, Ashish Magar for 0, and sent Abhinaya Rajbanshi back to the dugout with an lbw out for 0.

Similarly, Milan Bohara bowled Sumiran Rai for 1 and Bipin Mahato for 5 runs to claim 2 wickets. Dipesh Kandel scored 6 runs off 15 deliveries with 1 four. Aswin Mahato remained not out for 1 run.

With a win, Sudurpaschim tops the competition’s points table and becomes the favorite to play in the finals of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *