Monday, December 4

Sudurpaschim lifts the title of Wai Wai U19 National Cricket Tournament

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Sudurpaschim Province beat Lumbini Province by 6 wickets to lift the title of Wai Wai U19 National Cricket Tournament.

Lumbini’s Inning

Lumbini Province, who won the toss and elected to bat first at TU Cricket Ground, lost all its wickets in 29.1 overs for 92 runs. With opener Dev Khanal’s leaving the crease early for 7 runs following an lbw, Lumbini collapsed for a puny run.

Opening with a bat, Aakash Tripathi scored the highest runs of 38 off 69 delivery with 2 fours. Moreover, Nar Sarki contributed 11 runs off 18 balls. Other batsmen failed to score in double figures.

Prajjwol Thapa (5), Manoj Magar (1), Bishal Bikram KC (7), Vishal Bhusal (0), Nirmal Gurung (0), Avishek Gautam (0), and Durgesh Gupta scored 5 runs. Ramesh Kurmi remained unbeaten for 0.

With Sudurpaschim’s spinner Milan Bohara claiming a 5-wicket haul, Hemtn Dhami and Naren Saud booked 2 wickets, and Aakash Chand took apiece.

Sudurpaschim’s Inning

In return, Sudurpaschim chased the winning target of 93 runs in 21 overs. Gajendra Bohara smashed four and a sixer in the last two balls of the 20th over to win Sudurpaschim with the title of Wai Wai U19 National Cricket Tournament.

Gajendra, with 6 fours and 2 sixers contributed the highest of 39 runs off 19 balls to his team. Opener Deepak Bohara returned to the pavilion following a golden duck in the second ball of the first over.

Dipak Bohara (25), Anurag Singh (22), and Milan Bohara contributed 6 runs to the winning side. Sunil Chand remained not out for 0.

Ramesh Kurmi of Lumbini took 2 wickets whereas Nirmal Gurung and Avishek Gautam claimed 1 each.

Sudurpaschim’s spinner Milan Bohara was named the Player of The Tournament. Similarly, Province 1’s Skipper Dipesh Kandel was awarded Best Bowler of The Tournament and Pratik Shrestha of Bagmati Province was adjudged the Best Batter of The Tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *