Monday, December 4

Rupandehi-XI beat Malaysia to lift Pro Club Championship title

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Cricket Association of Rupandehi-XI on Saturday lifted the Pro Club Championship title after defeating a Malaysia team that featured in a triangular T20I series against Nepal two weeks ago. Rupandehi-XI defeated Malaysia by 7 wickets to become the champions of the event held in Bhairahawa.

Chasing a target of 141 runs for victory, the home side achieved victory in 19 overs losing 3 wickets. Wicketkeeper Prajwal Thapa contributed 71 runs off 61 balls for Rupandehi. His innings included 8 fours and two sixes. Sandeep Rajali scored 41 runs off 45 balls including 4 boundaries and a six.

Opener Dev Khanal was bowled out for 12 runs. Thapa and Rajaili played a 112-run partnership for the second wicket to ensure Rupandehi’s victory. Karan Karki and Bashir Ahmed scored two runs each.  Malaysia’s Said Aziz, Mohammad Wafik and Servin Muniandy took a wicket each.

Earlier, Malaysia were invited to bat first after losing the toss at Siddhartha Stadium in Bhairahawa and scored 140 runs in 20 overs losing 6 wickets. Malaysia’s Nazril Rahman scored the highest 36 runs off 22 balls. Rupandehi’s Washil Ahmed took two wickets while Krishna Karki, Rupesh Kurmi, Bikram Bhushal and Bishal Bikram KC took a wicket each.

Malaysia had arrived in Nepal to play a triangular series against Nepal and Papua New Guinea. The team then reached Bhairahawa to play the Pro Club Championship.

Earlier, during the group stage match, Malaysia had defeated Rupandehi-XI by 6 wickets.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *