Tuesday, July 16

Nepal Put Up A Fighting Total For The Indian Chase

By a staff reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal have set a target of 231 runs for India in the second match of the Asia Cup 2023. Nepal were bundled over on 230 runs in 48.2 overs.

Aasif Sheikh, Sompal Kami and Kushal Bhurtel were the pick of the batters in the Nepali innings. Aasif made 58 runs in 97 deliveries with eight boundaries in his innings. Sompal was two runs short of a brilliant half-century as he got out on 48 runs off 56 deliveries with one four and two sixes. Bhurtel made 38 off 25 deliveries with three fours and two sixes.

Invited to bat after losing the toss, Nepali openers gave Nepal a brilliant start with a partnership of 65 runs before Kushal was dismissed by Shardul Thakur in the tenth over. Bhim Sharki, who came back into the side today could only manage seven runs in 17 deliveries. He was bowled by Ravindra Jadeja.

Nepal skipper Rohit Paudel had an innings to forget once again as he could only score five runs. He was caught by Rohit Sharma in the slips off Jadeja. Kushal Malla was also the victim of Jadeja’s left-arm off-spin and made just two runs. He was caught in mid-off in a similar fashion he got out against Pakistan. Nepal were 101-4 when Malla went back to the pavilion.

Aasif was the next to get dismissed. He was dismissed by Mohammad Siraj and caught by Virat Kohli courtesy of a leading edge. Gulshan scored three boundaries while getting to 23 runs before being sent back to the pavilion by Siraj again. Dipendra Singh Airee made a quickfire 29 off 25 and got out to Hardik Pandya.

Sompal Kami, who came out to bat at number eight, steadied the ship for Nepal later in the innings. He was dismissed by Mohamad Shami on 48 runs, missing out on a well-deserved half-century against a highly superior team. Sandeep Lamichhane made nine runs off 17 and Lalit Rajbanshi was the last to be dismissed with no runs. Karan KC remained unbeaten on two runs.

Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammad Siraj took three wickets each for India. Mohammad Shami, Hardik Pandya and Shardul Thakur took one wicket apiece.

The winners of this encounter will qualify for the Super Four stage of the Asia Cup 2023. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *