Wednesday, July 24

Lumbini beats Madhesh to set final showdown against Sudurpaschim

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Reigning champions Lumbini Province beat Madesh Province by 58 runs to set the final showdown against Sudurpaschim Province on Monday in an ongoing Wai Wai U19 National Cricket Tournament. Both sides saw each other in the tourney’s final of the 2021 edition as well, where Lumbini stunned Sudurpaschim to clinch the title.

Lumbini’s Inning

Invited to bat at TU Cricket Ground, Lumbini scored 222/9 in the scheduled 50 overs. Following a class batting inning from its Wicketkeeper batsman, Prajjwol Thapa, Lumbini offered a competitive target of 223 runs to Madhesh.

The number 3 batsman Prajjwol, who stepped into the crease in 13.3 overs, lasted till 44.6 overs and scored the utmost of 85 runs off 128 deliveries including 9 fours and 2 sixers.

Dev Khanal, who has been clueless throughout the tournament, as usual, returned to the dugout early pocketing a tiny run. Madhesh’s pacer Abjit Mandal bowled Dev in 3.3 overs for 11 runs. Aakash Tripathi, who opened the inning alongside Dev contributed 23 runs off 36 deliveries.

Bishal Bikram KC (1), Sunil Bhandari (0), Vishal Bhusal (13), Nirmal Gurung (13), Tul Bahadur Thapa (8), and Durgesth Gupta left the crease for 8 runs. Nar Sarki (26) and Avishek Gautam (0) remained unbeaten.

With Madhesh’s bowlers Nitesh Yadav and Abhisekh Tiwari booking 2 wickets each, Nikesh Gupta claimed 3 wickets and Abjit Mandal took apiece.

Madhesh’s Inning

Chasing a winning target of 223 runs, Madesh Province collapsed in 45.4 overs scoring 164 runs. Opener Mayan Yadav earned the highest runs of 38 off 45 deliveries for his team.

Ali Ansari (22), Shailendra Sah (10), Dablu Malik (31), and Nikesh Gupta (10) however succeed to score in double digits. Megh Raj Ram (4), Imran Sheikh (4), Abhisekh Tiwari (5), and Nitesh Yadav returned to the pavilion for 3 runs. Abjit Mandal remained not out for 0.

Lumbini’s Avishek Gautam and Bishal Bikram KC claimed 3 wickets each whereas Nar Sarki, Durgesh Gupta, Nirmal Gurung, and Tul Bahadur Thapa booked 1 wicket each.

With a win, Lumbini sets the final date with Sudurpaschim on Monday, a recall match of 2021. Lumbini will step into the field to defend the title. Whereas Sudurpaschim, who is yet to lose any matches in this edition, will be looking for revenge. The match will be played at TU Cricket Ground in Kritipur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *