Thursday, June 20

APF seals Lalitpur Mayors Championship hat-trick

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club has won the Lalitpur Mayors Women’s Championship title for the third consecutive year. The departmental team secured a 54-run victory against Koshi Province in a final match played at TU Cricket Ground on Thursday.

Invited to bat first, APF scored 154 runs with the loss of only one wicket. Jyoti Pandey was the only player to get dismissed, contributing just 2 runs off 12 deliveries.

Sita Rana Magar and Indu Barma then put on a partnership of 136 runs for the unbroken second wicket, with Sita contributing 79 runs off 68 deliveries and Indu adding 51 runs with 5 fours and 1 six.

Alisha Khadiya claimed the only wicket for Koshi.

Later, Koshi Province could only score 100 runs in the prescribed 20 overs for the loss of 6 wickets, failing to chase the winning target of 155 runs. Koshi’s skipper Rubina Chhetry top-scored with 35 runs off 41 balls before getting bowled by Binu Budha Magar.

Kajal Shrestha 6, Apsari Begam 10, Smirti Katuwal 8, and Namita Shrestha 7 were the other contributors.

While Sabnam Rai departed for a duck out, Lakita Rajbanshi remained unbeaten for 21 off 21.

APF’s bowlers did an excellent job, with Binu Budha Magar taking 2-18 in 4 overs, and Rekha Rawal, Sonu Khadka, and Nary Thapa picking up a wicket each.

APF’s win earned them a cash prize of NRs. 2,00,000 while runners-up Koshi Province received NRs. 1,00,000.

Likewise, Sita Rana Magar was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament, having scored 214 runs and taken 8 wickets. Sita featured in APF’s all 5 outings and was adjudged player of the match in 4.

Similarly, Nisha Shah of Koshi was named the Best Bowler of the tournament, while Koshi’s skipper Rubina Chhetri was picked as the Best Batter of the tournament. Both received NRs. 15,000 each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *