Thursday, May 23

Shrestha appointed as a Team Manager of the Men’s National team

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – Martyr’s Memorial ‘A’ division league defending champions Machhindra Football Club’s team manager Anil Shrestha has been appointed as a team manager of the Nepal National Football team. The All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has appointed Shrestha for a period of one year.

Shrestha informed that he agreed to grab the opportunity as ANFA office bearers including ANFA President Pankaj Birakam Nembang asked him to take on the responsibility of the manager.

“My key role in the team will be to inspire the players to give their cent percent. Moreover, this responsibility is also an opportunity for me. I will work to make corrective changes that are required in the team.” said Shrestha. He added that his major goal is to clinch the title of the SAFF Championship.

However, Shrestha is yet to receive an appointment letter from ANFA but he mentioned that both parties have had a verbal agreement.

Earlier ANFA had appointed USA citizen Pradip Humagain as the interim head coach of the National team for a friendly match against Bangladesh scheduled to take place on September 27 at Dashrath Rangasala. Likewise, Yugal Kishor Rai and Binod Dangol have been given the responsibility of Assitant Coach and Goalkeeping Coach respectively.  

Humagain had called up 40 players including young and senior players who were left out by coach Abdullah Almutairi. The team is training at Army Ground in Lagankhel.

Preliminary Squad:

Goalkeepers: Kiran Chemjong, Bikesh Kuthu, Deep Karki, Bishal Shrestha

Defenders: Ananta Tamang, Rohit Chand, Bikash Tamang, Devendra Tamang, Dinesh Rajbanshi, Bikash Khawas, Gautam Shrestha, Tshring Gurung, Suman Aryal, Rajin Dhimal, Nishan Khadka, Amit Tamang

Midfielders: Sanjog Rai, Pujan Uperkoti, Rajan Gurung, Tej Tamang, Arik Bista, Sesehang Angdembe, Sudip Gurung, Bishal Rai, Manish Dangi, Suraj Jeu Thakuri, Subash Gurung, Avash Lamichhane, Sunil Bal, Ayush Ghalan, Sujal Shrestha, Anjan Bista

Forward: Bimal Gharti Magar, Nawayug Shrestha, Ashish Chaudhary, Ritik Khadka, George Prince Karki, Ashish Chapagain, Abhishek Rijal, Bharat Khawas 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *