Sunday, May 19

Prince and Rashila victorious in Lalitpur Mayor Cup

By a Staff Reporter

Kathmandu – National Champion shuttlers duo Prince Dahal of Nepal Police Club and Rashila Maharjan of Tribhuvan Army Club clinches the title of First Lalitpur Mayor Cup National Badminton Tournament.

Prince defeated Praful Maharjan in straight sets of 21-9 and 21-14 to be named victorious in Men’s Single category. Likewise, Rashila who went down to Anumaya Rai in the first set by 19-21, outplayed in the second and third sets to register a win of 21-15 and 21-18.

Champions Prince and Rashila pursed NRs. 40,000 each along with Medal, Trophy, and Certificate. Meanwhile, runners-up Praful and Anumaya were rewarded with NRs. 20,000 each.

Similarly, Kaski’s Bidhan Adhikari and Army’s Pawan Lenthep defeated Lalitpur’s Dipesh Shakya and Suman Shakya in a straight set of 21-12 and 21-18 to clinch the title in Men’s Double.

Moreover, Kabir KC crushed Anil Malla in a straight set of 21-10 and 21-13 to win in Men’s U17 Single category whereas Rihana Sherchan beat Ranju Rana by 21-8 and 21-17 to be victorious in the Women’s U17 Single.

Kaski’s Rajesh Gurung and Shambhu Kumar Shrestha stood first in Veterans 45+ at a covered hall of Balkumari Remix Club.

The tournament organized by the Lalitpur Badminton Association under the technical support of the Nepal Badminton Association was sponsored by Lalitpur Metropolitan City.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *