Tuesday, July 16

Gautam to lead Chess unopposed

Bidur Prasad Gautam has been elected as the president of the Nepal Chess Association (NCA). In the general assembly of the association held on Monday, Gautam was elected unopposed.

Rajendra Prasad Rijal stood unopposed for the senior vice president whereas the election was held for three vice presidents. Dhan Bahadur Bogati, Subodh Raj Sherpali and Naran Das Gamal Birnachin were elected with Bogati securing 59 votes and Sherpali and Gamal getting 55 and 52 votes respectively. Candidates Madhav Prasad Pradhan got 17 votes and Om Prasad got 9 votes.

Furthermore, Dharma Bahadur Lama as the general secretary and Molalisa Khambu, Bhupendra Niraula and Umesh KC as the three secretaries were unopposed. Gyanendra Maharjan as the treasurer and Yagya Prasad Pant as the co-treasurer were also elected directly. One each member from seven provinces and a woman member were elected unopposed.

On the other hand, elections were held for three open members. In the election constiuting seven candidates Krishna Prasad Sigdel (43 votes), Pravin Bahadur Bhadel (34 votes) and Ram Kishore Singh (32 votes) were elected. Other candidates Yasis Yasir Khambu got 26 votes, Rajivan Karki got 23 votes, Vikas Karki got 21 votes and Manoj Ghimire got 17 votes.

Similarly, Dipen Rai from State 1, Surendra Kumar Shah from Madhesh Pradesh, Niranjan Prajapati from Bagmati Pradesh, Maheshwar Adhikari from Gandaki Pradesh, Chandramani Gaire from Lumbini, Shakti Ram Badhu from Karnali, Gopal Shrestha from Far West and Parvati Shrestha as women member were elected unopposed.

According to the association, out of 113 members 78 members participated in the election process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *