Sunday, December 3

Clubs announce National Team ahead of ANFA

Subas Humagain, Kathmandu

The Nepali national men’s football team is playing its first match against Laos in the Prime Minister’s Three Nations Cup on Wednesday. Both Laos and Bhutan have arrived with their full teams for the tournament. But the All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has not been able to announce the preliminary squad so far. Instead, the A Division clubs have announced the names of the players who have been called up to the national team.

ANFA handed over the responsibility of the coach of the national team to Italy’s Vincenzo Alberto Annese only last week. The Italian coach who came to Nepal from Northwest United of the Indian Super League said that he would give opportunities to the young players in the press conference after signing the agreement. According to ANFA spokesperson, the coach has not yet submitted the player list to ANFA. However, the clubs have already released publicly that they have provided players for the training of the national team.

National team captain Kiran Chemjong has come to Nepal for the tournament. Manang Marsyangdi Club has informed that along with goalkeeper Deep Karki, Kamal Thapa, Randeep Poudel and Sumit Shrestha have been called to the team. Jawalakhel Youth Club has written on Facebook that their defender Aditya Chaudhary is on the national team.

APF also said through Facebook that Mani Lama, Navin Lama and Sanish Shrestha have been invited to the camp of the national team. Sankata wrote that Ayush Ghalan, Manish Dangi and Nishan Khadka have been included in the squad for the Three Nations Cup. Khumaltar also said that defender Padam Bhattarai has been included in the national team.

Tribhuvan Army Club’s Navayug Shrestha, Bharat Khawas, and Bikash Khawas are included in the team. Similarly, Anant Tamang, Ashish Chaudhary, Anjan Bista, and Arik Bista from Church Boys are also included in the training. Devendra Tamang and Sujal Shrestha of Machindra pulled out of the squad due to injuries. Pujan Uperkoti is the lone representative from Machhindra on the national team.

ANFA spokesperson Suresh Shah says that he has not received the team list yet. “We haven’t got a name. Maybe the team will be published today. The coach called the players and trained them,” he said.

In the past, ANFA used to write to clubs and announce the preliminary squad. After the initial selection, the team was announced in the final selection as well. This time, it is understood that ANFA will directly announce the final team.

Foreign Club – Rohit Chand and Kiran Chemjong

Manang Marshyangdi Club – Deep Karki, Kamal Thapa, Randip Paudel and Sumit Shrestha

Church Boys United – Anant Tamang, Ashish Chaudhary, Anjan Bist and Arik Bista

Jawalakhel Youth Club – Aditya Chaudhary

Tribhuvan Army Football Club – Nawayug Shrestha, Bharat Khawas and Bikash Khawas

Nepal APF Football Club – Mani Lama, Nabin Lama and Sanish Shrestha

Sankata Club – Ayush Ghalan, Manish Dangi, Nishan Khadka

Khumaltar Club – Padam Bhattarai

Machindra Club – Pujan Uperkoti

Satdobato Youth Club – Abhishek Baral and Deepak Raj Singh Thakuri

Three Star, Nepal Police, Friends, NRT, Himalayan Sherpa – no players have been called.

24 players in training:

Goalkeepers (3) – Kiran Chemjong, Deep Karki, Abhishek Baral

Defenders (8) – Rohit Chand, Ananta Tamang, Aditya Chaudhary, Randip Paudel, Bikash Khawas, Sanish Shrestha, Nishan Khadka, Padam Bhattarai

Midfielders (8) – Mani Lama, Nabin Lama, Pujan Uparkoti, Arik Bista, Kamal Thapa, Ashish Chaudhary, Ayush Ghalan and Sumit Shrestha

Forwards (5) – Deepak Raj Singh Thakuri, Manish Dangi, Nawayug Shrestha, Bharat Khawas and Anjan Bista

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *